Sure Maritime Hotspots

The Sure Matitime Crew have this information at their fingertips.  We update clients regularly on where not to travel and email urgent alerts about fast moving and dangerous situations, like typhoons or conflict.

Afghanistan – Balkh, Badakhshan, Kunduz and Baghlan-e Jadid District of Baghlan (Northern Afghanistan); Ghazni, Kapisa, Khost, Kunar, Laghman, Logar, Nangarhar, Nuristan, Paktika, Wardak and Paktya (Eastern Afghanistan); Helmand, Kandahar, Nimroz, Uruzgan, and Zabul (Southern Afghanistan); Badghis, Farah and the Shindand and Gozarah Districts of Herat province (Western Afghanistan); Surobi, Paghman, Khak-e Jabbar, Musayhi and Chahar Asyab Districts of Kabul province.

Burkina Faso– the area of Burkina Faso north of the town of Boulsa, 25 km north of the Ouagadougou, particularly the areas bordering Mali and Niger.

Cambodia – the area of Preah Vihear temple and the Ta Krabey/Ta Moan temple area.

Cameroon – border area with Central Africa Republic and Chad; the area bordering Nigeria in the region of the Bakassi Peninsula.

Colombia – the department of Narino, the city of Pasto and the city of Florida, the vicinity of the Nevado del Huila volcano in the Parque de los Nevados and Cerro Machin in Tolima Department.

Democratic Republic of Congo – Eastern and north-eastern areas (including entering the country from Uganda, Rwanda or Burundi) except Bukavu and Goma (see below section).

Ecuador – areas immediately bordering Colombia in the Carchi province (except Tulcan city); the town of San Lorenzo in the north of the Esmeraldas province.

Eritrea – within 25kms of the border with Ethiopia and Djibouti; to the border with Sudan, including the town of Tesseney; the area north and west of Nakh’fa, Ak’ordat and Barentu.

Ethiopia – within 10 km of the border with Eritrea, with the exception of the main road through Axum and Adigrat, and tourist sites close to the road (e.g. Debre Damo and Yeha), areas off the principal roads/towns within 10 kms of the borders with Sudan and Kenya, within 10km of the border with South Sudan – the Fik, Degehabur, Gode, Korahe and Warder zones of the Somali region, within 10km of the Somalia border, except for the Jijjga and Shinile districts of the Somali region, he Danakil desert area: north of the Mille-Djibouti and Mille-Chifra roads, and east of the towns of Bere-Ale, Shehet, Didigsala and Chifra, he four woredas (districts) (Akobo, Wantawo, Jikawo and Lare) of the Nuer zone and the Jore woreda of the Agnuak zone of the Gambella region.

Haiti – slum districts of Port-au-Prince, including Carrefour, Cite Soleil, and Martissant.

India – rural areas of Jammu and Kashmir (excluding Ladakh); in the immediate vicinity of the border with Pakistan (except at the international border crossing at Wagah) and Manipur.

Iran – within 100km of the Afghanistan border or to within 10km of the Iraq border; Bam and areas east of the line between Bam and Jask towards Pakistan.

Israel – Gaza (including the waters off Gaza).

Japan– within a 60km radius of the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear facility with the exception of transit through the area via the Tohoku Expressway and the Tohoku Shinkansen Railway. The Tokyo Metropolitan area and Narita airport lie outside this zone.

Libya– Benghazi.

MaliNigeria – the Niger Delta States of Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers (incl. Port Harcourt); the riverine areas of Akwa Ibom State (the river and swamp locations on or close to the coast accessible by boat but not by road); the area bordering Cameroon in the region of Bakassi Peninsula; Yobe State and Borno State.

Pakistan – the Federally Administered Tribal Areas, and much of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, including the areas of Peshawar, Charsadda, Kohat, Tank, Bannu, Lakki and Dera Ismail Khan. We advise against travel to the city of Peshawar and districts south of the city. The Pakistani military is conducting ongoing operations against militants across Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) and Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA); Northern and Western Balochistan; Swat, Buner, and Lower Dir, including travel on the Peshawar to Chitral road via the Lowari Pass.

Philippines – to south-west Mindanao and the Sulu archipelago because of on-going terrorist activity and clashes between the military and insurgent groups.

Russian Federation – Chechnya, Ingushetia and Dagestan, including the regions of Budyonnovsky, Levokumsky, Neftekumsky, Stepnovsky and Kurskoy in east and south Stavropol Krai, which border Dagestan and Chechnya.

Rwanda – rural areas bordering Democratic Republic of Congo except the towns of Gisenyi, Kibuye and Cyanguguster; Eastern DRC except Goma and Bukavu.

Sudan – Darfur, the Red Sea State border with Eritrea; the Abyei region; Southern Kordofan and Blue Nile states.

SyriaThailand – to the Preah Vihear (Khaoi Pra Viharn in Thai) temple area and the Ta Krabey/Ta Moan temple area located on the Thai-Cambodian border due to the presence of troops in the area and recent outbreaks of fighting.

 Uganda – Karamoja region in north eastern Uganda (Kotido, Moroto, Nakapiripirit, Katakwi, Kaabong, Abim, Kapchorwa and Bukwa districts) except Kidepo Valley National Park, which should be visited by air only; travelling at night by road outside major towns except travel between Kampala and the airport at Entebbe.

Venezuela – within 80kms of the border with Colombia in the states of Zulia, Tachira and Apure.

Yemen – the whole country.

Comments are closed.